Am I Doing This Right? by Tanya Hennessy

Am I Doing This Right? : Life Lessons from the Encyclopedia Bri-TanyaAm I Doing This Right? : Life Lessons from the Encyclopedia Bri-Tanya by Tanya Hennessy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Am I doing this right? How many times have we all asked ourselves this question? About anything and everything? I know that I’m asking this question to myself almost daily about a variety of things. And I’m sure I’m not alone in this.

Tanya Hennessy, funny, witty, charming, truthful and downright hilarious. If you don’t know who Tanya is you must have been living under a rock. Her popularity sky rocketed with the emergence of her hilarious short videos depicting daily struggles, namely her “everyday makeup tutorial” and her “18 year old VS 30 year old” videos. For me, watching these videos, she speaks the truth! She’s speaking for the people like me who are hot messes and not well put together in the slightest, who don’t eat properly, and have meltdowns over the smallest things.

Am I doing this right? Life lessons from the encyclopedia Bri-Tanya is a book filled with anecdotes, lists, and stories. Opening with a short chapter introduction to the book itself, it is followed by chapters titled with the subsequent letters of the alphabet – 26 in total – A to Z. Included in these chapters are experiences that Tanya has had in her life, majority absolutely hilarious and relatable, and some quite eye opening and sad, especially when she talks about the online bullying she has received since taking over a radio show in Canberra. She talks about the little thoughts that we’ve all had at some point in our lives, how we’ve felt or feel in certain situations.

I was laughing at page 2, the hilarity and wit has flowed from her videos through to her book. It’s a super easy read that I finished in a matter of a couple of hours, and it’s very informal, but that is definitely part of the charm here. It feels like Tanya is speaking to you, not like you’re reading something she’s written. I especially felt some elation and couldn’t help but squeak out “Me too, ME TOO!” as she wrote about her body image issues. She says what we’re all thinking, but most of us are too afraid to say, I found this to be SO relatable, it almost felt like I was reading a book about myself, besides the wanting to be an actor and the jobs in theatre, of course.

If you want a quick, easy, fun read, this one’s for you. If you enjoy Tanya’s videos then definitely pick this up I feel like you will enjoy it to no end.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment